The Early Year Foundation Stage Curriculum

In Foundation Stage, your child will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This sets the standards for the learning, development and care of your child. The things your child will learn in Foundation Stage have been organised into three prime areas of learning: 
   • Communication and Language
   • Physical Development
   • Personal and Social Development

and four specific areas of learning:
   • Literacy
   • Mathematics
   • Understanding the World
   • Expressive Arts and Design

In the EYFS, play is a very important part of your child’s development and most learning will be introduced through a mixture of carefully planned opportunities for play and some adult-led focused activities. There will also be opportunities for your child to choose their own learning that appeal to them, following their own particular interests.
Don’t be too concerned if your child says that they have been playing all day – it just means that they have been lucky enough to have experienced staff who have made their learning fun and enjoyable!

As the Foundation Stage year progresses, the learning will start to become more formal, ready for Year 1 and the National Curriculum.
Look at our learning from last year!